Facing Your Fears

Everyone remembers 9/11. Where you were, who you were with, etc. It was a defining moment for this generation just like the Kennedy assassination was for my generation. Most people felt compelled to ‘do’ something…make a statement, chronicle the event…to wrap their heads around what happened. It’s just how we’re wired. My stab at that was a concoction of current circumstances and what was under my nose.

I was teaching photography at the time (in addition to running a studio), and Boushra was one of my students. Besides being a talented photographer, she and I were able to have many fascinating and insightful conversations about an awkward subject. When I approached her with my idea for the portrait, she was all in.

Boushra

Boushra

Since those days, Boushra has returned to Yemen, married and had four beautiful daughters and, among many accomplishments, was recognized as Yemen’s first professional female photographer (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SI3BaPT1Gc4)!  Now, following her life and career since then, I am proud to share this clip of her TED Talk. Facing your fears. Congratulations, Boushra!

http://youtu.be/6Uc__AQosCk

Leave a Reply

